top of page

Texas

Texas Department of Insurance

Website:

Email

Phone:

512-676-6500

Mailing Address:

Texas Department of Insurance

PO Box 12030
Austin, TX 78711-2030

How to Get an Insurance Producer License in Texas

How to Get an Insurance Producer License in Texas

Where do I apply for my Texas Insurance Producer License?

NIPR

Is an agency license required to write business in Texas?

Yes

Texas New Insurance Producer License Fees:

Resident

General Lines Agent: $50

Personal Lines Property & Casualty Agent: $50

License Life/Accident & Health Agent: $50

Surplus Lines Broker: $50

Non Resident

Same as resident

Steps to Get a Producer Insurance License in Texas

Step 1: Meet the General License Requirements

  • Be at least 18 years of age

  • Have not committed an act for which a license may be denied, as defined under §4005.101 of the Texas Insurance Code and §1.502 of 28 Texas Administrative Code

  • Follow the remaining steps below:

Step 2: Complete Pre-Licensing Education (Optional)

Although not required by the state of Texas for insurance producers, it is highly recommended that you complete some kind of pre-licensing course. The state licensing exams can be difficult; these credible online classes will arm you with the tools and info you need to pass the exam and obtain your license. As we often mention here, Kaplan offers a great course, and its content is designed to help you pass the exam the first time!

Step 3: Pass the State Insurance Exams
To obtain your insurance license, you must pass a state exam.
Visit https://home.pearsonvue.com/tx/insurance and download the Candidate Handbook for an overview of the exam structure and scoring, as well as instructions on when and how to take the test.

Note that you do not need to take the exam if:

  • Your license has been expired for more than 90 days, but less than one year.

  • You don’t live in Texas, but you have a license in good standing in a reciprocal state.

  • You have the chartered life underwriter designation.

 

Step 4: Complete Fingerprinting and Background Check
Individuals seeking a license typically need to (1) undergo a fingerprint background check conducted by IdentoGO and (2) submit a copy of the IdentoGO receipt indicating that their fingerprints have been transmitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety. Keep in mind that submitting your fingerprints will initiate a background check. 

 

There are some expectations to the fingerprint requirement, which may include but are not limited to the following:

  • You live in Texas and have (1) an active license or registration with them, and (2) already submitted fingerprints.

  • You don’t live in Texas, but you send one of the following with your application:

    • Your criminal history record from your state’s law enforcement agency.

    • Your current Certificate of Good Standing from your state.

 

Step 6: Apply for your Applications! 

Apply for your licenses using NIPR. The fee for registering and insurance license is $50

 

Step 7: Maintain your License

This license is valid for two years and must be renewed before it expires. To rack your licenses and ensure important renewal dates are not missed, please consider using the LicenseView Tracking and Monitoring system, which is synced directly with NIPR.

For a full list of insurance producer application requirements, visit

How to Renew a Texas Insurance Producer License 

How often do I have to renew my Texas Insurance Producer Licenses?

2 years

How soon can I renew my Texas Insurance Producer License?

90 days before license expiration

Texas Insurance Producer License Renewal Fees:

Resident

General Lines Agent Renewal Fee: $50

Personal Lines Property & Casualty Agent Renewal Fee: $50 

Life Agent Renewal Fee: $50

Surplus Lines Agent Renewal Fee: $50

Managing General Agent Renewal Fee: $50

Limited Lines Agent Renewal Fee: $50

Late Renewal Fee: $75 per line of authority

Non Resident

Same as resident

For a full list of insurance producer renewal requirements, visit

How to Renew a Texas Insurance Producer License 

The California Insurance Producer License Renewal Process

Why Is It Important to Renew Your Texas Producer Insurance License?

As an insurance producer, it is essential to maintain an active license to continue practicing in the state of Texas. It is critical that you stay up-to-date when licenses are nearing their renewal date. Failure to renew your license can result in severe consequences, including penalties, fines, and even suspension of your license.  LicenseView by IDP allows you to track and monitor your licenses easily in real-time with our fully integrated NIPR license lookup feature. 

 

Additionally, having an active license shows your clients and potential employers that you are committed to your profession and staying up-to-date with industry regulations and standards.

Steps to complete the Texas Insurance Producer Renewal

The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) requires all insurance producers to renew their licenses every two years on the last day of the month of their birth. The renewal period begins 90 days before the expiration date of their current license.

Step 1: Complete Continuing Education Requirements

Before you can renew your license, you must complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) courses. The TDI requires producers to complete CE every two years.  (12) Twelve of these hours must be completed online or in a classroom setting, and (3) three of these hours must be ethics-specific. Certain additional CE requirements apply to flood and annuity licenses.

Note that you can be exempt from CE if you have held a Texas license for more than 20 years.

Step 2: Submit Your Renewal Application

Once you have completed your CE requirements, you can submit your renewal application. TDI allows producers to renew their licenses online through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).

 

Step 3: Pay the Renewal Fee

This fee can be paid online via NIPR. Note that there is a nominal fee for processing, in addition to any renewal fees paid to TDI. If your license has expired, you will also need to pay a late renewal fee of $75 per line of Authority

Common Questions About Renewing a California Producer Insurance License

Can I renew my license if it has already expired?

Yes, you can renew your license after the expiration date, up to 89 days post-expiration.  However, you will be required to pay a late fee of $75 per line of authority in addition to the renewal fee.

What happens if I do not renew my license?

If you do not renew your license, it will expire, and you will no longer be able to practice as an insurance producer in Texas. You will also be required to complete the initial licensing process again, which includes passing the state exam.

How can I do an Insurance License Lookup?

Using an insurance license tracking tool, like LicenseView by IDP, will allow you to easily track and monitor your insurance producer licenses in real-time. Get instant alerts when something changes with your licenses with LicenseView's NIPR PDB Integration.

For a full list of insurance producer renewal requirements, visit

How to Get an Insurance Adjuster License in Texas

How to Get an Insurance Adjuster License in Texas

Where do I apply for my Texas Adjuster Adjuster License?

Sircon

Texas New Insurance Adjuster License Fees:

Resident

New License Fee (Adjuster or Agency): $50

Non Resident

Same as resident

Steps to Get a Adjuster Insurance License in Texas

Step 1: Meet the Basic Requirements
To apply for an insurance adjuster license in Texas, you must meet the following basic requirements:

  • Be at least eighteen (18) years old

  • Prove financial responsibility by filing a $10,000 bond. The surety bond form is available from TDI and at the agent section of http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form11apps.html

  • You must be either a U.S. citizen or a legal alien with work authorization granted by the United States Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services.

  • Have not committed an act for which a license may be denied, as defined under §4005.101 of the Texas Insurance Code and §1.502 of 28 Texas Administrative Code

 

Step 2: Complete Pre-Licensing Education (Not required, but highly recommended!)

It is generally advised to undergo some form of education, such as acquiring a study guide or enrolling in a state-approved online course, before attempting the exam. The nationwide average pass rate for insurance exams is approximately 55% for first-time test-takers, and it's even lower for subsequent attempts.

 

Step 3: Pass the Texas Insurance Adjuster Exam
Online reservations are the most efficient way for candidates to schedule their examinations. Candidates must go to www.pearsonvue.com/tx/insurance to make an online reservation for an examination.

 

To pass the exam, you must score at least 70%, and the test costs $43 per attempt. 

 

Step 4: Complete Fingerprinting and Background Check

Applicants generally need to: (1) undergo a fingerprint background check through IdentoGO, and (2) provide a copy of the IdentoGO receipt indicating submission to the Texas Department of Public Safety.

However, there are some Exceptions:

  • If you reside in Texas hold an active license or registration with us, and have previously submitted fingerprints, a new background check is not required.

  • Non-Texas residents can submit either their criminal history record from their state’s law enforcement agency or a current Certificate of Good Standing with their application.

 

Step 5: Submit Your Application and Fees

After finishing your exams and fingerprinting, you can proceed to apply for your adjuster license. The online application fee is $50, plus a minor processing fee. Utilize the "New Adjuster License" option on Sircon to apply online. Ensure to include your IdentoGO fingerprint receipt with your application. Any additional requested documentation should be sent to the Department of Insurance.

 

Note that you must complete your fingerprints and submit the application within one year of passing your insurance adjuster exam.


Step 6: Receive Your License
If you pass the background check and the application is approved, you should receive an acceptance email in under 5 weeks.

 

Step 7: Maintain your license

This license is valid for two years and must be renewed before expiration. To effectively track your Texas Adjustor License and ensure it is in good standing, we highly suggest a license management tracking service like LicenseView by IDP
 

For a full list of insurance producer renewal requirements, visit

How to Renew a Texas Insurance Adjuste License r

How to Renew a Texas Insurance Adjuster License 

How often do I have to renew my Texas Insurance Adjuster Licenses?

Every two years on the final day of the month the of the adjuster's birth month

Where can my Texas Adjuster Adjuster License?

NIPR

How soon can I renew my Texas Insurance Adjuster License?

90 days before license expiration

Texas Insurance Adjuster License Renewal Fees:

Resident

Licensing Fee: $50

Late Fee: $25

License Reinstatement Fee (if renewed 30 days after expiration)

Non Resident

Same as resident

The California Insurance Adjuster License Renewal Process

When Should You Renew Your Adjuster License?

In Texas, insurance adjuster licenses expire every two years on the last day of the broth month of the adjustor. For example, if your license was issued on March 4, 2021, but you were born on February 8th, your license will expire on February 28th, 2023. To avoid the $25 late fee, renew your license before midnight CT on your expiration date.

How do you renew your adjuster license in Texas?
Now that you understand the importance of renewing your adjuster license and when to do it, let's discuss the renewal process.

 

Step 1: Complete Continuing Education Requirements
Maintaining your license's good standing requires completing 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years. Two (2 )of these hours must be ethics-focused, and (12) Twelve of these hours must be in a classroom setting. While you can take CE courses at any point during the two-year term, finishing them by midnight Central Time (CT) on your license expiration date is essential to prevent fines and delays in the renewal process. 


Most CE providers automatically report your CE hours using your license and NPN numbers. For lesser-known companies or in-person courses, confirm if they report your hours upon completion.

Step 2: Submit Your Renewal Application
Once you have completed your CE requirements, you can submit your renewal application via NIPR.

 

Step 3: Pay the Renewal Fee

The renewal fee is $50. We will add a $25 late fee if you don’t pay before midnight CT on your expiration date. A reinstatement fee will apply if your license is renewed after the expiration date but within 30 days.

Step 4: Wait for Your License to Be Renewed
Once you have completed all the necessary steps, all you have to do is wait for your license to be renewed. If you submitted your application online, you can check the status of your renewal through the CDI's website. Or, if you are subscribed to IDP's LicenseView Service, your license information will be automatically updated in your portal. If you submit a paper application, you will receive a notification in the mail once your license has been renewed.

 

What If You Missed the Renewal Deadline?
If you missed the renewal deadline, don't panic. You can still renew your license within 90 days after its expiration date by following the same steps outlined above. However, you will be required to pay a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.

If you fail to renew your license within 90 days of its expiration date, your license will be canceled, and you will have to apply for a new license. This process can be more time-consuming and costly, so it is essential to renew your license on time.

 

For a full list of insurance adjuster renewal requirements, visit

Legal Disclaimer:

The information provided on this webpage is intended for informational purposes only and is not to be construed as legal, financial, or professional advice. While Insurance Data Partners LLC strives to provide accurate and up-to-date information, Insurance Data Partners LLC makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability, or availability of the information contained herein. For the most comprehensive and up-to-date state insurance licensing requirements, see the respective state's department of Insurance website.

Any reliance you place on the information provided is strictly at your own risk. Insurance Data Partners LLC disclaims all liability for any errors, omissions, or inaccuracies in the content or for any actions taken in reliance on the information provided. Insurance Data Partners LLC is not liable for any losses or damages, including without limitation, indirect or consequential loss or damage, arising from the use of this information.

It is advisable to seek professional or legal counsel and verify information from authoritative sources before making any decisions or taking any actions based on the information provided on this webpage. This disclaimer applies to the fullest extent permitted by law. By using this webpage, you agree to accept the terms and conditions of this disclaimer.

Disclaimer - texas
bottom of page